PT Jobs / Career Center
Community Search
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
AWARDS - William Gould Award
Share |

William Gould Memorial Outstanding 

Physical Therapy Faculty Award


The purpose of this award is to acknowledge an outstanding faculty member in Physical Therapy education in Texas who has demonstrated excellence in that role.  This award has been renamed in honor of William R. Gould, PT, PhD, who passed away in 1999. A leader for many years at Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Dr. Gould was known as an exemplary educator and earned the respect of students and colleagues. 





  1. A physical therapist who is:
    1. a current member of the TPTA.
    2. has been  engaged in teaching physical therapist students (professional or post-professional) for at least two years.
    3. has a part-time or full-time faculty academic appointment, but may be of any rank.
    4. must be employed in an academic setting within one or more accredited physical therapist education programs, or post-professional level programs for physical therapists, from which student earn an academic degree.

     2.    Members of the Ad hoc Awards Task Force of the TPTA are not eligible for the award
            during their terms or periods of service.




  1. Any member of the TPTA may submit nominations.
  2. Nominations are made by completing an electronic nomination form and submission of a nomination letter.
  3. Nominations will be evaluated on the nominee’s:
    1. Teaching excellence in the academic setting
    2. Commitment to service to the institution, profession, and community.
    3. Contribution to the body of knowledge in physical therapy through research or writings.

4.  Nomination materials will not be returned.

       5.  If an individual is not selected for the award in a given year, the individual may be
            nominated in subsequent years. This would require a new nomination form and    
            supporting materials.



2000 – Sharon Olson 2007 – Martha (Marty) Hinman
2001 – Ann Newstead 2008 – John Childs
2002 – Peggy Gleeson 2009 – Janelle Kay O’Connell
2003 – Phillip B. Palmer 2010 – Carolyn Utsey
2004 – Christine P. Baker  2011 – Marsha Rutland
2005 – Ronald Bybee  2012 – no award given
2006 – Deydre Teyhen  2013 – Barbara Melzer  
  2014 -  Loretta Dillon  
  2015 - Brenda K. Boucher  

more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Featured Jobs
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal