PT Jobs / Career Center
Community Search
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
AWARDS - Rex Nutt PT Student Award
Share |

Rex Nutt Student Physical Therapist Award




The Student Physical Therapist Award shall be given to recognize an outstanding student physical therapist from an accredited professional Physical Therapy Program in Texas who has exhibited excellence in both leadership and clinical skills. This award shall be known as the Rex Nutt Student Physical Therapist Award, hereinafter referred to as the Rex Nutt Award. This award has been established in honor of Rex Nutt, a PT who has dedicated his professional career to furthering the educational and professional level of Physical Therapy.


  1. A student physical therapist who
    1. is a member of the TPTA and is in the last year of an accredited professional program, or who has graduated within the last calendar year.
    2. has a passing average in curriculum, however grade point average shall not be sufficient criteria for winning the award. 
  2. As the intent of the award is to honor a student who demonstrates excellence in clinical performance and exemplary leadership skills, the following guidelines are suggested for reviewing nominees to select a winner:
    1. Clinical performance
      1. Knowledge of basic clinical skill and creativity in application
      2. Communication skills
      3. Ability to work with staff
      4. Level of professionalism
      5. Overall attitude
      6. Ability to handle crisis situations.
      7. Ability to apply scientific method to clinical setting, i.e., ability to ask pertinent  questions and follow up by finding an answer.
    2. Leadership
      1. Attendance at TPTA meetings (District and Chapter)
      2. TPTA district level involvement (committees, volunteer)
    3. Displayed leadership in academic settings (well thought of by classmates and 
      faculty - initiates activities)
    4. Displayed leadership in clinical setting (well thought of by peers and staff -               initiates activities)
    5. Level of maturity
    6. Displays ability to motivate others
    7. Creativity


  1. Any person may submit nominations.
  2. Nominations are made by submitting an electronic nomination form and submission of supporting documents. 
    1. A nomination letter
    2. An unofficial transcript from the accredited program. 





1980 – Terri L. Howell

1999 – Jacob Brewer
1981 – Charles C. Martin  2000 – Matt Dufilho
1982 – Joseph C. Fritz 2001 – Matthew Stump
1983 – Susan Krouse 2002 – Doug Anderson
1984 – Kathleen D. Linney 2003 – Leslie Turlington
1985 – Kathy Hamilton 2004 – Brad Hicks
1986 – Melissa J. Briley 2005 – Alexandria Griffin
1987 – Tamara Jean Vaugh 2006 – Kimberly Staton
1988 – Warren Van Bush 2007 – Angela Rosales
1989 – James Craig Cryer 2008 – Laura Ruth Fisher
1990 – Tamara Jean Vaugh 2009 – Jennifer Yasu Stone
1991 – Kathy Davis 2010 – Alison Jeffus
1992 – Stacy Cooper 2011 – Sara Lord
1993 – Jose Luis Santos 2012 – Mark Gutierrez
1994 – Laurie Johnson 2013 – Thomas Lawlor 
1995 – Katrina Short 2014 - Aaron Cantu 
1996 – David McMullan 2015 - Pablo E. Estrada
1998 – Lori Schwanz  
more Calendar

Power Development in the Clinical Setting: Tools, Exercises, and Programming for Power (SED)

Spine Symposium: How to Manage and Resolve Common Injuries from the Athlete to the Office (CD)

Featured Jobs
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal