PT Jobs / Career Center
Community Search
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
AWARDS - Outstanding PT Researcher Award
Share |

 Outstanding PT Researcher Award


To acknowledge an individual who has made significant contributions to physical therapy through excellence in research.



  1. A physical therapist  who
    1. is a current member of the TPTA.
    2. has practiced in the state of Texas for at least five years immediately prior to the nomination and must not have been out of Texas for longer than one year since the submission of the nomination.
    3. is employed in any setting appropriate for physical therapists.
    4. has performed sustained and outstanding basic, clinical, and/or educational research that must pertain to physical therapy and physical therapy practice.
    5. has published scientific studies within appropriate refereed scientific and/or professional publications.
    6. has presented scientific studies orally to the appropriate audiences.
  2. The total research and scholarly output of the individual must represent a continuity of professional commitment to physical therapy.
  3. Members of the Ad hoc Awards Task Force of the TPTA are not eligible for the award during their period of service. 


  1. Any member of the TPTA or APTA components may submit nominations.
  2. Nominations are made by submitting an electronic nomination form and submission of supporting documents.
    1. Current curriculum vitae of the nominee.
    2. Letter of Nomination
    3. Reprints of three to seven scientific papers published by refereed journals that present clear evidence of sustained and outstanding research. The scientific papers should be selected to present the entire body of work of the nominee, and do not necessarily have to be the most current works. If more references are needed in order to make a decision, the task force will request those from the nominator.
    4. Extraneous documents (that is those not required or in excess of requirements) will not be considered.
  3. Individuals nominated and not selected for the Award may be nominated in any subsequent year by submission of the new nomination packet. Previously submitted materials will not be used.
  4. Current members of the Ad hoc Awards Task shall not be nominated, write letters of support, or endorse members of this award.




2001 – Gail Deyle     2008 – Phillip Sizer
2002 – Kurt Mossberg     2009 -- Deydre Smyth Teyhen 
2003 – no award given     2010 – Scott Hasson
2004 – Robert S. Wainer     2011 – no award given
2005 – no award given     2012 – Elaine Trudelle-Jackson
2006 – John Childs     2013 – Shane Koppenhaver
2007 – Dennis O’Connell     2014 - Hao Liu

2015 - Heather J. Braden


more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Featured Jobs
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal