Four More Counties in South Texas Added to the Ban on Elective Surgeries

On Tuesday, June 30th, Gov. Abbott added the South Texas Counties of Cameron, Hidalgo, Nueces and Webb to the list of counties where elective surgeries are now banned in an effort to preserve hospital capacity as the number of Covid-19 patients continues to grow rapidly.

The four counties are the hardest hit in South Texas and the number of available ICU beds is on the verge of becoming critical. This order by the Governor is in addition to the one last week banning elective surgeries in Bexar, Dallas, Harris and Travis Counties.

In March the Governor issued a statewide ban for all elective surgeries which lasted for about a month. The last two orders have been more targeted to the counties which are experiencing the most pressure on the hospital capacity.