Tom Waugh Leadership Development Program (TWLDP)

WaughThe Tom Waugh Leadership Development Program (TWLDP) aims to help foster and develop professional leadership skills in members of the Texas Physical Therapy Association (TPTA) who show potential and desire to become more active in the TPTA.

The TWLDP Program is named after longtime member (40 years), Tom Waugh.  Tom was active in the association during his many years of practice as a physical therapist in the El Paso area. He was known across the United States due to his many years as a Delegate for the Texas Chapter at APTA's House of Delegates.  Everyone who knew him felt his passion for the profession and Leadership Development.  He mentored many students and professionals throughout the years.  Tom passed away in April, 2012 after battling cancer. 

Program Objectives
The goal of the TWLD program is to provide a structured mechanism by which members become more familiar with both leadership opportunities and operations of the TPTA and become encouraged to increase participation. Completion of Phase I of the program means that a member has received personalized mentorship to enable increased organization involvement at both the local and state levels. Completion of Phase II means that a person is recognized as having leadership capacity and is ready to assume any of a number of leadership roles in the TPTA. It will take two years to complete both phases.

Mentors can be self-appointed or nominated. All will complete a consent to serve form which will include mentor specific qualifications. Mentors also commit to attend annual conference, participate in 6 monthly webinars, and 1 formal monthly interaction w/mentee for minimum of 6 months. 

Mentee Participants
Mentees will be chapter members in good standing with the organization who exhibit professional leadership potential of becoming more involved at the local or state level. Mentors are individuals who volunteer to assist with the program and who are well-versed in the current and future chapter objectives.

  • Mentee Selection- Mentees can be self-appointed or District appointed. All will fill out an application to participate in the program and have a TWLDP Fellow sponsor them.  

                                             We congratulate our current mentees.

        Phase II TWLDP Mentees: 
    Shelby Melton
    Cheryl Obregon
    Erica Parazo

        Phase I TWLDP Mentees:
    Rob Hofschulte
    Shaundra Kwiatek
    Evan Lucas
    Afrin Marshal
    Daniel Millar
    Kai Williams

Mentee Application

Deadline for mentee applications is August 31, 2020.
All mentees and mentors need to be approved by the TWLD coordinating board.

The Tom Waugh Program relies heavily on donations to help offset the cost of travel for mentees, the orientation meeting and other miscellaneous expenses.  Please consider donating to help us encourage future leaders of the association. 

Donate Here